The Johnson County R-VII School District was formed in 1979 after the Johnson County Board of Education submitted a plan of reorganization to the State Board of Education for its review. At the urging of the Farmers and Centerview Boards of Education, a proposal was placed on the February, 1979 ballot and approved, thus forming the Johnson County R-VII School District. The district, also called Crest Ridge R-7 School District, encompasses 140 square miles in Johnson County, Missouri. The school district includes residents from the small towns of Centerview, Columbus, and Fayetteville. The school district operates one elementary, one middle, and one high school.  Crest Ridge Elementary opened the doors to the new building on August 18, 2004.